Look After You…

Have you ever heard of Arbonne? I hadn’t until recently when Holly Chapman (Pilates Teacher, Arbonne Consultant and Trainee Nutritionist) approached me on Instagram and I was intrigued. So much makeup and skincare is packed full of chemicals and is also not good for the environment. Arbonne incorporates pure, botanically based ingredients to promote a healthier lifestyle. This vegan friendly brand is also great for those wanting to incorporate cruelty free beauty products into their lifestyle choices.

So many people think about what they eat but they forget to change what they put on their skin. I must admit I have my favourite products from brands which do use chemicals and are not cruelty free, but incorporating just a few healthier choices into your routine can at least play a little part into a more positive lifestyle. This is what I intend to do anyway.

I was lucky enough to borrow some of the Arbonne products and try them out. This is not a sponsored post and all these opinions are my own. So, are the products any good? Here’s what I think…

Gentle Daily Cleanser  from the Calm Collection £18

I have sensitive skin and this cleanser was lovely to use. My skin felt clean and fresh, and it even removed my makeup gently so I was impressed by this. I normally just buy a cheaper drugstore face wash to save money so this would have to be a treat purchase!

Nurturing Day Lotion with SPF 20   £33

This moisturiser was lovely and nourishing on my dry skin. I love the fact that there is SPF 20 in it. For a product that is better for my skin, this ticks all the healthy boxes. It also smelt of citrus peel and so this reminded me of Christmas baking – always a nice scent when doing your skincare routine!

171819

CC Cream, Light £31

This lightweight CC cream was a dream to apply to my face. When I have saved up some pennies, I might treat myself to some as it felt so silky on my face. There was a very good coverage with it too and it didn’t feel cakey or drying on the skin. Great for a no makeup look.

Perfecting Liquid Foundation SPF 15, Buff £34

Another SPF product! The foundation, although a little darker than I would have chosen produced a nice even coverage and felt light and comforting on my skin. It was not cakey and looked dewy when on. I was quite impressed. It is pricier than more normal foundation but I guess you are paying for a healthier product.

Blush, Sunset  £22

Although a little dark to what I usually go for, this blusher was nice and blendable and it had a very nice colour. It worked really well with the bronzer.

1611

It’s All in the Eyes Eye Shadow Duo in Fog / Sienna and Mist / Storm £32

I was impressed with the eye shadows. Probably my favourite product of the bunch. The colour pay off was gorgeous and it blended really well. It is hard to find highly pigmented eye shadows. Quite high in price but worth it for a good quality eye product in my opinion.

It’s A Long Story® Mascara  £28

I liked this mascara and the wand was nice and long. The only thing I found odd was the flexible brush at the end of the wand. This product is water resistant so great for out and about and the product separated the lashes nicely for a fuller look. It gave that false lash effect.

15

Smoothed Over Lipstick, Currant and Smoothed Over Lipstick, Rose £21

These moisturising lipsticks were lovely to apply and felt silky on. The colour payoff was good and they also lasted well. Their fade was quite natural and so I was impressed with these. I thought the red coloured one Currant was particularly nice and applied nicely, considering how hard a red lip is to get right!

98107

 

Glow On Bronzer £23

For a sunset glow, this bronzer was a nice little addition. I didn’t have to use much as it was very pigmented. The only downside to this is there is only one shade of bronzer available to buy but it is gorgeous nonetheless.

Makeup Primer £29

I don’t normally bother with a makeup primer but this one felt so silky and soft on my skin. It was such a treat to apply. This is another favourite of mine and I might have to save up to buy one! The makeup glided on after using this and created a base to work from.

Mattifying Powder  £20

This essential bit of kit helps set your makeup and this one was lovely and light. I liked how it provided an invisible layer without building the makeup more.

141312

6

 

I hope you enjoyed this post and it has given you some new ideas about makeup, going forward into the Christmas season and New Year. Although I still like other brands, I am glad I discovered Arbonne and will try and incorporate them into my skincare and makeup routine in the future! They have also brought out a Christmas collection which is available online. Maybe this is the perfect chance to spoil someone with some healthier choices into their routine?

 

4321

 

sign-off

5 thoughts on “Look After You…

Leave a Reply

